Reviews

Six Degrees – Book Review


image

Six Degrees — Book Review’

Title : Six degrees
Published by: Blogadda & Leadstart Publishing
Pages: 420
Authors: umm, countless.

I was very glad and eager to read it when I received my review copy of the book. I fell in love with the cover the moment I tore open the package.

Now let me add little more about this anthology containing three stories, each stories have 10 authors or so. Sounds interesting, right?

IT IS INTERESTING! Every story is plotted and written with care. I only feel bad that I didn’t have a page in the book. (Yup, I participated in game of blogs, as well)

About the initiative:

As part of their #CelebrateBlogging initiative, Blogadda.com, ran the first edition of Game Of Blogs in September 2014. Five Characters and their descriptions were provided. The objective was to write a fictional story revolving around these characters. Bloggers came together as teams to write the stories…

And at the end, these stories are the winner.

About the novellas:

The Awakening: I recently have a new addiction to sci-fi novels and the otherworldly creatures. So to say I love this one from the first moment is not a lie. The novel starts with Shekhar who was writing a novel with the information his friend Jennifer gives… and what happened… huh, the next day the pages were burnt to ashes by some mystic force. Are you interested yet? The story is neat, the plot tight. At times it seem to waver a little, but then it is difficult to share and write with ten people. I have firsthand experience how it will be… so I am more than surprised that how well this story turned out to be.
The writing style is good. The writers are not in a hurry to dump it all in one scene and that I like so much. The vocabulary, the wordings, much better unlike some recent Indian novels I read by some famous (hmm, it beats me how some of them get to be on bestseller list) authors.
All in all, a very good, a very neat read.

I will rate 4 out of 5 for this alien-dabbed, mystery novel. Go, get it!!!

Entangled Lives: Murder, mayhem and mystery, my all time favorite next to romance. This biok is very interesting, and yes, every one’s guilty until proven otherwise. Who killed Naina, the maid? And what’s the reason? Well, you will find that it won’t be so disappointing at the end.

Inspector Java every-one’s-guilty is some seriously good character. Ooh, just love how disgustingly good he could be. Who kill whom theme pushes the story forward, and the authors have a great plot and setting and it might have taken considerable effort to move the plot along in the right pace. Good writing here as well, very good.

Will handout 4 out of 5 for this fast-paced, guessing game.

Missing — A journey within: From the very first word, I fell in love with Roohi Dutta. That is some pretty active, pretty intelligent kid. The characters are rich, their every nuance captured perfectly well. The story is strong, but the characters are stronger. They keep it interesting.
The story starts when Roohi disappeared from her school, and from the lives of her parents. So what happened next… did they find Roohi? Was she kidnapped, or did she leave in her free will? Well, so many good questions and the mystery is steadily unravelled as the story goes on…

For this heart touching novel, I will give 4 out of 5 for its good characters.

Sometimes I really want to kill myself when I read some popular fiction by Indian authors, because of poor language. For me, language, and story telling in the right words with right pace is as important as the plot, the characters. So for me the whole book is a good effort, even though it is from most of the first time authors.

Overall the book is a real treat for three evenings with a cup of coffee on the side. You will just love it.

~~~

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!

©Ada

Eager to hear what's in your mind :)

