Cakes&Bakes · contest · Sponsored

A Gift Of Deliciousness – Sugar Cookies & Some Tested Tips


image
Image from rewardme.in

‘A Gift Of Deliciousness – Sugar Cookies & Some Tested Tips’

Since I got a new oven two months ago, I have spent my time in flurry of baking activities. Baking has become my source of enjoyment and a hobby.

It ensures that I am not so bored anymore, and also, yes, it ensures I gain MORE weight, but I don’t care. I just love baking.

The first time I tried a cookie, it is an utter flop. And I have been searching for a cookie recipe since that day, the one that doesn’t come out like a softened, mushy bread… And stumbled upon this recipe on Reward Me site.

Iced Biscuits under Baking Recipes in Food section caught my eye a week ago, because they look so pretty and delicate at the first sight… I want to try that cookie, but has some doubts about it.

What if this is an utter flop, as well? I don’t want to waste anymore of my butter. But then, yesterday I was too bored, and had nothing to do. So, I placated myself that it would not be too bad, and I decided to try my luck on that cookie.

I started baking, and my first tray was a mess of shapes (of biiiiiggg circles) and collapsed with each other, but when they finally cooled, I know This recipe hadn’t failed me.

The second tray, I had learnt my lessons, and started to shape it in small circles and placed it well apart before baking. What came out was a beautifully shaped and colored biscuits.

The first bite, and I was so happy that I had decided to try this out. I was going to do the icing, but then my leg was complaining, so I didn’t. But the cookie alone is tastier.

image
My Cookies 🙂
image
Cookie BlasT 🙂

The ‘Iced Biscuit’ recipe is a Hit, though I didn’t do the icing. And too many of my friends asked the recipe, and I directed them to reward me site, to look out for the cookie recipe.

When my hubby first took a bite – that guy who often doesn’t shower praises – open his mouth, bit the second bite and said ‘Wow! It is so soft and crunchy…’ Yup, that itself is a great success.

Thanks for the reward me site for that ‘WOW’ from my hubby 🙂 It really is soft and tasted just like something made in bakery!!!

Four tips before you try the original recipe out:

1. Add 1/2 tsp of baking powder. It softens the cookie up, a little, and make it a little less hard and give it a soft feel. 

2. Apply a little of flour on the working surface, your rolling pin, as well as your palms before rolling out the cookie (dust even the plastic sheets, if you use them to roll the cookies out) . It become less sticky and easy to make a shape out of it.

When I first rolled out the dough, it stuck to everywhere, and created a big mess. Also it is watery, and danced here and there when I tried to shape it, peel it and place it in the baking tray. But after applying a little of flour, the sticky dough obeyed to my tunes and came out nice and round.

3. Make sure you give enough space for the cookies to raise and spread. Place the shaped dough some distance apart, so they don’t stick to one another and for a shape that you doesn’t want. And cut it in medium circle.

4. It needs 15 or so minutes of baking. Use this method to evenly bake and brown the cookies –

For the first seven minutes of baking, place the tray in one direction. When its over, switch off the oven and turn the tray to the opposite direction, so that now the front goes to back and the back end of the tray comes to front. This will make sure that the back side of the cookies doesn’t turn a dark brown.

Happy Baking 🙂 I am sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I did…

~~~
I am participating in the ‘Ready For Rewards’ activity for Rewardme in association with BlogAdda.

© Ada

Eager to hear what's in your mind :)

