Friendship & Love · Poetry

The Price of Love!


4f31757c0df74.preview-300‘The Price of Love!’

 

Love and affection – can they be tagged with a price?

You say you’ll love, if I love you back, more than you love me.

You say you’ll love, if I give my all, give up everything that I am.

You say you’ll love, if I close my eyes against all your wrongs.

You say you’ll love, if I support you, and let you control me.

You say you’ll love, if I cut my wings down, and never fly.

 

Love and affection – can they be labelled and sold?

The price of your love costs a fortune, and I don’t know how

To fight and win this long-played game of buying and selling.

You shall be the seller, but I shall never buy it again. No.

Your love has become my greatest fear. It has become

The butcher of my beautiful, beautiful dreams.

 

Today, I shall cut all the shackles binding my heart

And fly away. Free from this hopeless meander

And enjoy the liberation from the smothering cage.

I don’t want a love that costs me myself. Not anymore.

But then, love and affection – can they be tagged and sold?

If they are tagged, can they really be love and affection?

~~~

©Ada

5 thoughts on “The Price of Love!

Eager to hear what's in your mind :)

