contest · Itsy-Bitsy · thoughts

The Man Who Lived After Death


Why Prophet Muhammad is My Role Model

‘The Man Who Lived After Death’

My dearest Prophet Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم is the man I can proudly call as a role-model, a teacher, not just because he is the messenger of God, but because Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم lived a life that engraved him in the history and hearts of people, Muslims and Non-Muslims alike.  He is the man I looked up to, I ran to, when I need the lessons of life.

Here I will inscribe the life of one of the richest (in characters) yet the poorest (in wealth) leader in the history. Here I will tell how he changed my life and guides me through.

His actions were louder than his words. His life was filled with so many mishaps and calamities, so many trials and hardships, but he never lost hope and courage. He ploughed through life with confidence and trust in God. Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) is an example for tolerance and forbearance.

He is an example for humility and he is the true enforcer of benevolence. He forgave easily. He didn’t hold grudges against the people who had harmed him. Even though, he was the prophet of Almighty God, he didn’t expect any special favors.

He was poor; he lived in ruts; he worked for money and a life. He helped his wives to do the daily chores. He washed, cleaned and cooked and chose poverty. He helped the poor even when he was in need of money. He fed the starved when he didn’t have enough to fill his stomach. While various leaders lived a life of wealth and affluence, Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم lived and died, poor and humble.

His life was rich with experiences and true lessons for ‘How to be A Human.’

Out of all those, I will inscribe few of those teachings he had left with me… endlessly in my heart… here.

There were moments in his life… which had taught me how to live life to become a real human (No, not a Muslim; but a human!) and that made him the first man who had impacted my life with both his actions and words.

prophet-muhammad

To restrain anger and restore peace:

Prophet (peace be upon him) was travelling from Mecca to Madinah. It was a hot day and the sun was vicious. On his way, he met an old lady. He offered to help her by carrying her luggage. Throughout the way, the old lady chastised and talked bad about a man called Muhammad. She said, ‘Muhammad’s a vile man; he creates violence; because of him there’s so many evil things happening around here. He is a magician and I am leaving this town.’

Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم stayed silent. He smiled and nodded when she wanted his opinions. At the end of the journey, she said, ‘Oh young man, you’re such a kind one; you helped me through this journey. Don’t ever listen to Muhammad. He’ll change you too.’ He nodded again.

When she turned to left, she stopped and asked: ‘I am sorry I forget to ask you name? What’s your name, you kind and generous young man, with a peaceful smile?’

“Muhammad.” He answered. 

‘What? Did I hear correct? You said your name’s Muhammad?’ The old lady asked with shock

Prophet nodded: ‘I am the Muhammad you’re talking about.’

The old lady was stunned to silence and then she was ashamed of her foolishness. She heard that Muhammad (peace be upon him) was a vile man; a man who embraced violence and all. She never tried to investigate or explore. She just accepted all the lies and started hating Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم. When she realized her ignorance and stupidity, she cried ashamed and then silently whispered: ‘I testify that there is no God but Allah and that Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.’

~He could secure victory with just his smiles. There is no leader who won his enemies with his honorable character and magnanimity like he did. This incident of his life taught me many… that anger is vile and smile can capture all… that patience is not only an asset, but a true weapon.~

To Help The Needy:

Once Muhammad (peace be upon him) saw a servant grinding some grain on a grinding mill. He was crying as he ground the grains. On seeing this Prophet became concerned. He asked the man the reason for his tears.

The servant said, ‘I am sick. I cannot grind the grain. My master is very cruel and he will beat me if I cannot finish my job.’

 At this, the Prophet stepped forward and ground the rest of the grain saying, ‘Always call me if you have any grain to grind. I will do it for you.’

~His kindness was the one thing that made him shine above all. By this incident, he taught me to be compassionate… to help the needy and the poor. He taught me that social status is nothing when compared to the generosity. He taught me that humankind will not stay alive by slashing people because of wealth, caste or creed, but will be alive only when the compassion and kindness shine through the darkness like the rays of the blazing sun.~

To Work hard and treat everyone equally:

Just as Muhammad (peace be upon him) and his companions landed from their rides, and unpacked the loads down, it was decided that they would cook a lamb for dinner.

One of the companions volunteered: ‘I will sacrifice the lamb.’

‘I will skin it.’ Next one volunteered.

Third: ‘I will cook it.’

The Prophet said: ‘I will gather the wood from the desert.’

His companions protested, ‘O Messenger of Allah, don’t discomfort yourself as such. We will be honored to do all this on our own.’

Muhammad said, ‘I know that you are eager to do it all, but Allah isn’t pleased with the people who discriminates between himself and his companions, and considers himself better than others.’

~In the society where people take their power for granted and push the people below them farther down, forcing them to do all the work, he taught me that discrimination is the truest of the evil and working hard is the only thing that will ultimately lead to true victory. He taught me that getting special favor is not for the bravest and the strongest of humankind.~

To speak the truth, always…

Even before the prophet hood, Muhammad صل الله عليه وسلم always talked truth. When he stood in the mountain and asked the people of Makkah,

‘If I told you that there is an army of people ready to destroy our life, will you believe me?’

Everyone below the mountains shouted, ‘Yes.’

‘If I told you…..’ He asked many things and people shouted YES again and again.

‘Why would you believe everything I say?’ He asked.

‘Muhammad, son of Abdullah, you are one of the upright and honest man in this town. You have never lied in your life and so we believe everything you say.’

~And he talked truth, even at the face of the calamities and troubles. And he taught by his life that lying is for sinners and people who are upright can always survive any situation, no matter how hard it was!~

Role-modelNoble. Generous. Dead but still alive in the hearts of millions and more.

His heart, pure and proper, truth lingered in his every word.

He was the man of honesty, integrity. Uprightness and moral strength.

He, the emblem of peace; the man of honor. He was chaste and humble.

He forgave even his enemies; he offered everyone the desired kindness.

Smile was his amorous armor; Kindness, he most lovingly savored.

Patience was his true flavor; harmony and love was what he really favored.

 /# H. Hart, The 100: A Ranking of the Most Influential Persons in History, New York: Hart Publishing Company, Inc. 1978, p. 33:

“My choice of Muhammad to lead the list of the world’s most influential persons may surprise some readers and may be questioned by others, but he was the only man in history who was supremely successful on both the religious and secular level.”

 # Thomas Carlyle – Heros and Heros Worship
“…The lies (Western slander) which well-meaning zeal has heaped round this man (Muhammad) are disgraceful to ourselves only…How one man single-handedly, could weld warring tribes and wandering Bedouins into a most powerful and civilized nation in less than two decades….A silent great soul, one of that who cannot but be earnest. He was to kindle the world; the world’s Maker had ordered so.”/

 Yeah… In my heart, he has the highest of place and I hold his words, his action and his life, close… closer to my heart… to live and die as a good Human.

 ~~~

I am writing about #MyRoleModel as a part of the activity by Gillette India in association with BlogAdda.com

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Man Who Lived After Death

  1. I wonder why there isn’t any comments to this! I thoroughly loved this piece. Wish if I would have got a chance to write a post on role models and he would be none other than Prophet Muhammad (SAW) . He is an inspiration to so many. A well structured post!
    Love
    Amreen

    Like

  2. Truly, undoubtedly he is the most inspirational personality in the universe, for whom this earth was created, but what he demanded from his creators, the forgiveness for his umma. Love and respect for Muhammad (PBUH) .

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful post!

    Like

Eager to hear what's in your mind :)

